Tagliatelle al sugo di manzo

Here I am, food-blogging again. I chose this dish because… well… good pasta meals do not need special reasons. They just are.
The inspiration actually came to me from a very gifted Swedish blog writer and cook, Anne http://annesfood.blogspot.com/, and was originally posted by Jamie Oliver. Jamie, who is indeed my favorite British food writer, named this dish “amazing slow-cooked meat” but, when I look at the ingredients, it was a recipe for pasta meat sauce. Not the Bolognese though. The “real” slow cooked meat sauce with big, juicy, pieces of beef that melt in your mouth… “sugo di manzo”, in my grandma’s terms, a staple of Italian traditional cooking. So it was Sweden-England-Italy… what a long way for this recipe to come to life again.
Here is the slightly modified recipe.

Ingredients (my way)                                                                                                                   1 kg braising meat – I used chuck-steak, which is “högrev” in Swedish
1 handful of fresh thyme, leaves picked
A few bay leaves
1 small red onion, peeled and finely chopped
4 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely chopped
2 carrot, peeled and finely chopped
1 celery stalk, finely chopped
3 wineglasses of good red wine – I used organic-grown San Giovese, from Tuscany
500g of plum tomatoes, crashed
500g cherry tomatoes, whole
2 tablespoons pearl barley
fresh or dried tagliatelle – pappardelle or fettuccine are just as good
salt and freshly ground black pepper
grated Parmesan cheese

Roast the cherry tomatoes on an oiled baking pan in a preheated oven (225 degrees/450F) until they start breaking. Finely chop the herbs and vegetables. Cut the meat in big chunks and remove most of the visible fat. In a deep casserole pan fry the meat with olive oil — add more if it looks dry. Fry the meat until golden brown then add the herbs, onions, garlic, carrot and celery. Turn the heat down and continue to fry for 5 minutes until the vegetables have softened. Add the red wine and continue to simmer until the liquid has almost cooked away.
Add the crashed plum tomatoes and the cherry tomatoes without the skin (it will come out so easily after the oven “treatment”), the pearl barley and just enough water to cover the meat. Put a lid on the pan and cook on a really low heat for about 2-3 hours. I was actually able to make this on a week day, by simply doing most of the cooking one night ahead.

At this point, remove the bay leaves and, using 2 forks, pull apart the pieces of meat into tiny chunks. Put the meat back in the pan on a low heat.
Serve with tagliatelle and some good grated parmesan.

                       We all really enjoyed this meal…                                

…including our 21 month old picky eater.

About Bread & Companatico

On Bread & Companatico I share my passion for bread and for what someone who knows me well defined as gourmet comfort food. I am indeed a city girl with peasant attitudes, so give me a good slice of crusty rustic bread with some earthy accompaniment anytime and I will be in foodie heaven. If you too had enough of nouvelle cuisine and low carb diet, stick with me. I will guide you to higher levels of bread mania and gourmet comfort food.
This entry was posted in Primi - Pasta, Rice, Soups. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tagliatelle al sugo di manzo

  1. ~RED~ says:

    looks and sounds delish. Love the final photo. Can you believe Ryan will be 2 in a couple of weeks.

    • love that pic too. Ada is hilarious when she eats pasta, looks like some bad parody of Italians. Congrats! Soon he will help in the kitchen, and my soon to be two, too, I hope 😉

  2. Pia says:

    Yay!!! This is what i call comfort food. I love Jaime Oliver as well..i have had a few of his recipes. One of my favorite is his Lamb stew. My Italian BIL made similar dish when i went to California couple of months ago. The difference was with the meat he used porkbutt sans the barley but the process slow and long cooking made a big difference. They were so delicious.

    I’m bookmarking this and will make this anytime soon but i’ll be using my slowcooker.

    I like your final shot of the dish and Ada’s shot=;) You can tell she devoured it w/ gusto=;)

  3. Caffettiera says:

    I re-descovered a lot of traditional Italian recipes via British food writers like Jamie or Nigella; their take is quite good, usually, and they adapt to ingredients that you can actually find in cold countries. As an added bonus, they even give you weights, timings and so on – all those little details your mother in law will never tell you!

    • again… nice to meet you!
      yes, it’s funny how I got and get to appreciate so many old-fashioned Italian dishes through foreign food writers and cooks.
      funny considering that most contemporary Italian food magazines go instead toward innovation and “fusion” -and also toward quick and cheap cookining solution- while the foreigners who fancy Italian style prefer the “real” Italian stuff, the dishes our grandmas used to cook. well… I tend to agree with the the foreigners!

Leave a Reply

