Easy cranberries bread

I know I should have been doing something else.  But I was home with Ada having an eye infection and I was feeling uninspired. So as soon as when she fell asleep I did not do any of the dozen of, oh so very important, things I knew I had to do like… tidying up the apartment, watering my plants, making those urgent calls, or work at least a little bit by my laptop. No way, there was another urge that had to be fed first. Something that might have given sense to my whole day.

Just HAD to BAKE.

Luckily, in my pantry there were all the ingredients for a wonderfully looking cranberries bread a friend (http://redsroost.blogspot.com/) recently posted. And since I can never cook according to recipes, I used whole wheat flour instead of only white, increased the amount of oil, used yoghurt instead of buttermilk, decreasing the amount, and here comes the modified recipe.

1 cup all-purpose flour 
1 cup whole graham flour                                                                                                                   1 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup olive oil
juice and zest of one orange
2/3 cup 3-4% fat yoghurt
1 egg
1 cup coarsely chopped cranberries
1/3 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 (180 in Europe)
Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, baking soda in a large mixing bowl. Set aside. In a medium bowl, mix oil, juice and zest of orange, buttermilk, and egg. Add to dry mixture and barely stir together. Add cranberries and walnuts. Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake for 66-60 min.

Of course when Ada woke up I had no time to do all those important things. But she was very happy to have something freshly baked to eat.

About Bread & Companatico

On Bread & Companatico I share my passion for bread and for what someone who knows me well defined as gourmet comfort food. I am indeed a city girl with peasant attitudes, so give me a good slice of crusty rustic bread with some earthy accompaniment anytime and I will be in foodie heaven. If you too had enough of nouvelle cuisine and low carb diet, stick with me. I will guide you to higher levels of bread mania and gourmet comfort food.
This entry was posted in Dolci - sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy cranberries bread

  1. I am so glad you decided to do this instead of the other things that needed to be done 🙂
    Have you tried Pan con L’Uva? It is so good! http://redsroost.blogspot.com/2010/10/pan-con-luva-bread-with-grapes.html

Leave a Reply

